Skip to content

DIY: The Closet Office!

February 23, 2011

If you have always liked the idea of a home office, but are like me and can’t bear the thought of giving up an entire room, you will love this idea! The entire thing was incredibly inexpensive, and was completed over the course of a weekend.  Check out the process below!

The closet space, before:

(Peek at the bottom left of the pic – you can see Marcus likes it, but the space wasn’t doing me any good :)) I brought in a couple of storage cubes I had bought a while back, that I used to keep side-by-side. The cubes were from Target‘s Itso line – here is a piece in white, shown below.

These would become the sides of my desk. I placed them in the closet, and laid a piece of wood from Lowe’s on top. Four screws and a screwgun later, we had a desk!

Once the desk top was in place,  I used primer on the wood to prepare it for paint.

 

Once that dried, I went over with chalkboard paint – you can buy a can for under $14 at Lowe’s, and it’s a great thing to have. (FYI: once you get going, you will want to turn everything into a chalkboard – don’t say I didn’t warn you.)

The funny thing is that once you start going with a small space, you start to analyze every tiny area and see how to get the most out of it. This led to the pegboards on the doors. They sell large sheets of pegboard at Lowe’s, and they will cut them for you right there at the store.

We first took 4 small blocks of scrap wood for each of the closet doors and screwed those on (one for each corner of the pegboard.) These allowed the pegboards to be raised enough to create space between the pegboard and the actual closet door, so that we could store things on their easily. After that, we screwed the pegboards into place, onto the scrapwood. We then purchased a $11 kit to organize items on the board with.

We brought in a few storage baskets we had around the house and added a couple of finishing touches, and I suddenly had an awesome office space! The best part is that I didn’t have to sacrafice an entire guest room. In the long run I realized that the more I scaled it down, the easier it was to manage and organize it all. This is easily my most favorite “room” of the house🙂

Forget about the box. Think inside the closet!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Peggy Strong permalink
    February 23, 2011 2:33 pm

    What a great idea. Ali, you never disappoint.

  2. Alana permalink
    February 23, 2011 10:38 pm

    i think this idea is adorable!!!! its so creative and a huge space saver!!

  3. Gina L permalink
    February 24, 2011 12:54 pm

    Ali,
    Great idea! It looks amazing!!

    Gina

  4. Joe permalink
    February 25, 2011 12:18 am

    I’ve seen this in real life, it’s awesome! It’s more like a secret room than a closet.

  5. Daphine Millien permalink
    February 21, 2013 11:23 am

    I have a number of bins similar to these guys that I have purchased at Target over the years and love. I have used them in the kitchen, bathroom, living room… everywhere. I bought these online because I needed a bunch and these seemed like a good deal. I could tell when I took them out of the package that they were cheaper than the ones I was used to but I figured they would do the job. I loaded them up with DVDs”

    View the most recent content on our very own webpage
    <'http://www.caramoantourpackage.com

Trackbacks

  1. Backyard DIY Makeover: Seeing the Big Picture in a Small Space « Live For the Season

Leave a Reply

